Deuce Bello to Transfer to Misssouri

by joelcollins2

Logo for the University of Missouri

Logo for the University of Missouri (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Deuce Bello, formerly ranked number 54 in the country during high school by Rivals.com, will be transferring to the University of Missouri.  The 6’4” guard played two seasons with Baylor.  He’s 187 pounds and mostly was used for defense by coach Scott Drew at Baylor.

Although being extremely athletic, Deuce Bello averaged just 2.8 points per game and saw limited playing time, averaging only 10.9 minutes.  We will see how coach Frank Haith uses his latest transfer.  Unfortunately, Bello will have to sit out the 2013-14 season due to transfer rules. 

“I just feel like the coaching staff is good, and I’ve been cool with (associate coach) Tim (Fuller) for a while,” Bello added.  “At Baylor, we played Mizzou three times and I like their style of play.  They get up and down the floor and press.  Plus I’ve been on the campus so I know what it’s like.”  The Baylor Bears played MU twice during the regular season and once in the Big XII tournament during Bello’s freshman year at Baylor; they lost all three times to Mizzou.

“I just felt like another place would be better for me,” Bello went on.  “I wasn’t getting the time I wanted.”

Deuce Bello will probably never be a star player at Mizzou.  He contributes mostly defensively and has a decently weak jump shot.  I give Frank Haith a “C-” for adding this prospect. This is not because I do not believe Deuce can be a solid player, but more because I do not believe him to be a difference maker. 

Deuce Bello (Photo credit: bluedevilnation.net)

Deuce Bello (Photo credit: bluedevilnation.net)

Read

Deuce Bello (Photo Credit: bluedevilnation.net)

more here: http://www.kansascity.com/2013/05/20/4245546/deuce-bello-will-transfer-from.html#storylink=cpy

