Former MU Guard Michael Dixon to Memphis

by joelcollins2

Missouri Tigers athletic logo

Missouri Tigers athletic logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

During the 2011-12 season, times were great for Michael Dixon who was playing guard for the Missouri Tigers.  Dixon went on to win the Big XII Sixth Man of the Year award.  Everyone, including myself, believed the future was bright for this emerging star; that in the 2012-13 season he would be a go to player for Frank Haith.  

 

Despite the strong upside that Dixon obtained at Missouri, the University dismissed him after multiple accusations of sexual assault (he was not charged on account of either incident).

 

Dixon will be an experienced player that a young Memphis Tigers’ team needs.  He posted on Twitter yesterday night, “It’s Official Once a Tiger always a Tiger. Proud to be apart of The University Of Memphis. Ready to be a model citizen off the floor and ON.”  Dixon making it clear that he will be a class act while attending Memphis.  “It has to bother you if you’re human. But the people that really know me know that I’m not the guy that’s been portrayed. That’s all I really need as clearance. … The situation has been really hard on my family, probably a little more than it has me, as far as emotionally, mentally. That’s why I’m ready to get to college and get the ball rolling. I want everybody to be well again,” he said. “But this isn’t how I wanted to be remembered in college. I wanted another chance to prove myself in and out of the classroom and on and off the court.”

 

For Michael to be granted permission to play, he will need a waiver from the NCAA similar to the one Dez Wells received last year after being kicked out of Xavier.

 

Dixon knows that he will have to work extremely hard in order to play this coming season, “Every workout and everything I do on the basketball court is going to be fueled by that. It’s definitely motivation.” he said regarding being dismissed from Missouri.  Dixon feels confident that he will be granted a waiver, however, several Division I coaches give him only a slim chance of getting the waiver from the NCAA.  If these coaches are incorrect, the Memphis Tigers and their touted recruiting class will be a force to be reckoned with.

 

“It’s easy for anybody to want to go somewhere to be the man. But it takes a real person, a real man, to want to go somewhere and be a part of a team and win. That’s something I want to do. I’ve always dreamed of playing in a Final Four and winning a national championship. That’s something I can see myself doing at Memphis.” Dixon added.  But, that’s assuming he is granted the opportunity.

Michael Dixon (Photo credit: kansascity.sbnation.com)

